Wednesday, September 15, 2010


It has been agreat month for Renfrewshire's Gillian Kyle, who claimed not one, but two club championship titles. Gillian is now Ladies Club Champion at both Troon and East Renfrewshire Golf Club, truly a remarkable achievement.
Gillian has won the East Renfrewshire title for the 14th time !!
Congratulations Gillian from all at Renfrewshire Ladies' County Golf Association.

Also congratulations go to Lesley Cosh who won the Cowglen Championship, Janette McCartney who won the Erskine Championship, Nicky Henderson the Haggs Castle Club Championship and Anne Robinson the Ranfurly Castle Championship.

Vice Captain Maureen Woodhead
was Champion at Gourock Golf Club for 15 years consecutively up until 2008 when she lost in the semi finals. However I have just been informed that she has won again this year again to make it 17 times !!

Any advance on 17 years, then? --- Not sure if this is correct but I am sure I will be informed if it is wrong!!

Message from Maureen --- The figure of 17 is correct! However, I think mention should be made that I have only equalled Elspeth Hanlon's record of 17 wins at Gourock. She's also been Champion of I don't know how many other courses!!

On Saturday 11th September Gillian Mullen won the Club Championship title at Paisley for the 8th consecutive time.

Morag Key won the Ralston Club Championship for the 10th time. Would be good to have a champions day somewhere. Mar Hall would be neutral! --- Sounds a good Suggestion --- Janette

Guess who of course for Greenock - Linda McDougall.---- Thanks Mo

Latest News: The Old Course Ranfurly's Lady Champion is Marion Downie. This is a new name on our Trophy and she is one of our 'newer' members who has now got her handicap down to 10!
Also Caldwell's Christine Wilson and Cochrane Castle's Champ is Alyson McGinnigle

Renfrewshire Club Champions :
Caldwell - Christine Wilson
Cochrane Castle - Alyson McGinnigle
Cowglen - Lesley Cosh
East Renfrewshire - Gillian Kyle
Erskine - Janette McCartney
Gourock -- Maureen Woodhead
Greenock - Linda McDougall
Haggs Castle - Nicky Henderson
Kilmacolm - Megan Briggs
Old Course Ranfurly - Marion Downie
Paisley - Gillian Mullen
Ralston - Morag Key
Ranfurly Castle - Anne Robinson
Troon - Gillian Kyle

STILL A FEW MORE TO GO --- To help complete the list --- CLICK ON THE FOLLOWING LINK email your webmaster with the name of your Club Champion

Thanks go for all the submissions so far