Sunday, May 08, 2011


Eilidh Briggs - 2011 West of Scotland Champion - click to enlarge (courtesy of Jean MacIntyre)

To see some more photos go to the West of Scotland Website

Thanks go to MAUREEN WOODHEAD for the photographs from the days event -- Click here to see larger photos
Looking to see some more photos  - taken by Anne Laing on the Course and Jean MacIntyre (Plus some of Maureen's) then CLICK HERE

Kilmacolm's Eilidh Briggs the 2011 Renfrewshire County Champion won the West of Scotland Championship at Lanark with four shots to spare over 36 holes.
Alyson McKechin (Elderslie) matched Eilidh's opening round of 73 but could not live with her rival's pace on the second circut.
In the morning round Eilidh had birdies at the fourth, 11th, 13th, 15th and 17th with a bogey at the second and a double bogey at the eighth.
Alyson had an eagle 3 at the 14th and birdies at the second, fourth and ninth. She bogeyed the third ,the 7th and 17th.
In the afternoon round Eilidh added a 74 for 147 with Alyson returning a 78 for second place on 151.
Eilidh had second-round birdies at the first, second, 10th, 11th and 14th. She dropped shots at third, eighth and 12th. With so much in hand, she could afford the luxury of a double bogey at the 18th, knowing that its only consequence was a reduction in her winning margin.
Ayrshire's Mhairi McKay (West Kilbride) , with a net aggregate of 143 (72-71) won the handicap prize off seven of a handicap.
Lanarkshire trio of Lesley Lloyd, Susan Wood and May Hughes won the Senior Team event with the Ayrshire team of Mhairi Mckay, Connie Jaffrey and Emma Hale winning the Junior prize (best Net)
The Senior team representing RLCGA was: Carol Whyte, Donna Jackson and Liz Stewart.
The Junior team representing RLCGA was: Alyson McKechin, Eilidh Briggs and Linsey Stevenson.

SS 74 . CSS 74 74.
147 Eilidh Briggs (Kilmacolm) 73 74.
151 Alyson McKechin (Elderslie) 73 78.
153 Lesley Lloyd (Hayston) 76 77.
154 Nichola Ferguson (Clober) 78 76.
155 Rachael McQueen (Troon Ladies) 77 79.
156 Susan Wood (Drumpellier) 74 82, Alex Glennie (Kilmarnock Barassie) 76 80.
157 Mhairi McKay (West Kilbride) 79 78.
158 Jennifer Linklater (Largs) 77 81.
159 Donna Jackson (Cochrane Castle) 76 83.
161 Connie Jaffrey (Troon Ladies) 79 82.
163 May Hughes (Lanark) 82 81.
164 Liz Stewart (Greenburn) 82 82, Jenny Potter (Cathkin Braes) 76 88.
165 Gillian McGinley (Cochrane Castle) 83 82, Ruth Rankin (Lanark) 81 84, Lesley Cosh (Cowglen) 84 81.
166 Carol Whyte (Windyhill) 82 84, Angela Devine (Hamilton) 83 83.
167 Lorraine Campbell (Cardross) 86 81, Emma Hale (Troon Ladies) 88 79, Patricia Davidson (Erskine) 84 83, Lindsay Mathie (Windyhill) 83 84.
169 Linsey Stevenson (Elie and Earlsferry Ladies) 86 83.
170 Laura McGeachy (Windyhill) 87 83, Kirstin Scott (Milngavie) 88 82.
173 Susan McGrenaghan (Mount Ellen) 85 88.
174 Emma Caddow (Cardross) 92 82.
175 Lesley Barker (Kilmarnock Barassie) 88 87.
NR Lorraine Morrow (Erskine) 80 -.
Withdrew: Sara Bishop (Windyhill), Sara McCorkell (Williamwood) 85 -, Natasha Qayam (Ranfurly Castle).

Thanks go to Lanarkshire's Jean MacIntyre for the report and all the results